Countdown to CHRISTMAS

Christmas 2018.

I took a week off before the holidays to begin my descent into the shopping frenzy that has overtaken many of us during this December. As like yourselves, I have been shopping too, getting gifts and christmas cards. In the age of online shopping,  one might wonder why I still do it? Why do I go out to the mall with the busy crowds when I can sit behind a computer screen and just choose my items? I guess I am just old fashioned in that regard, thrill of the hunt, and still leftover from a era where that was part of tradition. For the record, I am still not finished getting gifts, and late this year.

EatonCWP

Christmas traditions are something I still cherish, the sparking lights of a decorated tree, the classic music of Bing Crosby or Frank Sinatra heard in the background. The sweet treats, cookies and a glass of milk. Also, of course, the snow, lots of snow, looking out through the window from the inside, staying warm and comfortable. The snow always makes it feel like a white Christmas, much like icing to a cake.

We haven’t had any snow in Toronto the past few days. So it might be a Green Christmas this time around. However, it might snow by the time this article gets posted. Fingers crossed.

DistillMktWP

The quiet time comes before phone calls are dialed and plans are made. The moments that inner reflection come in, where I take the time to go outside, visit places I might have passed but not really seen. I am reminded of life and all the good things that have happened, and trying to forget all the bad.

I take a break just watching the people go by as I drink my coffee, thinking about that last gift I need to get, or wanting that extra dessert before I go on my way. I catch my breath before I get up from the chair and proceed to shop again.

DstillTreeWP

Thank you for all the continued support. May you all have a Merry Christmas and Happy New year.

Victor Ramirez

*THE ART OF VICTOR RAMIREZ*© All written articles and visual images are the copyright and creation of Victor H. Ramirez-vichramirez2015, and not affiliated with rhometechdesign.com

Leave a comment